Rue Saint-Leu in Amiens, a new street of thirst?

The Hoppy loft, a bar with craft beers from micro-breweries, opened on January 9, rue Saint-Leu, in place of the Saint-Leu bistro, whose new establishment retains the corner point. Would rue Saint-Leu become an Amiens “street of thirst”?

The prospect of the opening of the Citadelle university campus, scheduled for September, could suggest this. To the historic My Goodness were added the Delirium and the 9 3/4. François Beauvisage, owner of the Hoppy loft, but also of the Delirium Café, a few meters higher, and of the Charleston, a pub rue des Boilermakers, denies it. “I did not choose rue Saint-Leu for its student potential, but because the Delirium café imposed a certain number of standards on me, such as a minimum surface area, explains the latter. I had two other sites in the city center, but here I own the commercial walls, as for the bistro in Saint-Leu, which was in compulsory liquidation ”.

New address for Pirate Moon?

With the arrival of 4,000 students, rue Saint-Leu will become the artery that will connect the Citadel to the city center. In ten minutes on foot. The project was discussed on Thursday January 11 during the New Year ceremony by Alain Gest, President of Amiens Métropole, and Mayor Brigitte Fouré. A project for a performance hall with 350 to 500 seats would be under consideration on rue Saint-Leu, or rather on the land which today serves as a wild car park behind the Taverne Elektrick, between rue Saint-Leu and rue Edmond- Fountain. The site could become the new address of Pirate Moon, which has plans to expand. Amiens Métropole supports this project, which was planned behind the Quai Bélu stage. The matter remains to be settled with the co-owners' union council.

Saint-Leu street in Amiens, a new street of thirst?

And then, a construction on this hollow tooth could, for the City, solve problems in particular of security on this increasingly festive sector. A performance hall behind her copy and print shop, Anny Kittel, who has taken over Reprocolor since June, is not against it. Students are its main clientele. “I had even submitted a file to occupy one of the commercial cells on the Citadel campus, explains the boss of Here services. In the end, I was not selected. Amiens Métropole preferred the file of a soup bar”. Rue Saint-Leu, it also attracts students from the cathedral university center (law) and the science faculty.

Estelle Thiébault

___

The collective of the inhabitants of Saint-Leu makes proposals on nightlife to the mayor

After having taken part in a meeting on the nightlife charter in September, the collective of the inhabitants of Saint-Leu, which claims "a constructive approach" wrote again to Brigitte Fouré at the beginning of January to make her proposals. "A standardization of closing hours at 1 a.m. would avoid conflicts between establishments and a reinforced presence of the municipal police", explains the collective, which cites the cities of Montpellier, Lyon and Le Havre as examples. The collective would also like to "contact the university for the establishment of a mediation system", in order to encourage more civic behavior.

Continue reading on this/these topic(s):Town planning|Bars and nightclubs|Amiens (Somme)

Related Articles

  • Eudaemonism: all about this philosophy of happiness

    Eudaemonism: all about this philosophy of happiness

    GO

  • Effects of palm oil on health: what are the dangers?

    Effects of palm oil on health: what are the dangers?

    GO

  • Vaccination obligation in Lourdes: the employee of a dialysis center dismissed

    Vaccination obligation in Lourdes: the employee of a dialysis center dismissed

    GO

  • Charlotte, student midwife: "We are very quickly in autonomy"

    Charlotte, student midwife: "We are very quickly in autonomy"

    GO

La rue Saint-Leu à Amiens, une nouvelle rue de la soif?

Le Hoppy loft, bar à bières artisanales issues de micro-brasseries, a ouvert le 9 janvier dernier, rue Saint-Leu, à la place du bistrot de Saint-Leu dont le nouvel établissement conserve le point corner. La rue Saint-Leu deviendrait-elle une « rue de la soif » amiénoise ?

La perspective de l’ouverture du campus universitaire de la Citadelle, prévue en septembre, pourrait le laisser supposer. À l’historique My Goodness sont venus s’ajouter le Delirium et le 9 3/4. François Beauvisage, patron du Hoppy loft, mais aussi du Delirium Café, quelques mètres plus haut, et du Charleston, un pub rue des Chaudronniers, s’en défend. « Je n’ai pas choisi la rue Saint-Leu pour son potentiel étudiant, mais parce que le Delirium café m’imposait un certain nombre de normes, comme une superficie minimale, explique ce dernier. J’avais deux autres sites en centre-ville, mais ici je suis propriétaire des murs commerciaux, comme pour le bistrot de Saint-Leu, qui était en liquidation judiciaire ».

Nouvelle adresse de la Lune des pirates ?

Avec l’arrivée de 4000 étudiants, la rue Saint-Leu va devenir l’artère qui permettra de relier la Citadelle au centre-ville. En dix minutes à pied. Le projet a été évoqué jeudi 11 janvier lors de la cérémonie des vœux d’Alain Gest, président d’Amiens Métropole, et du maire Brigitte Fouré. Un projet de salle de spectacle de 350 à 500 places serait à l’étude rue Saint-Leu, ou plutôt sur le terrain qui sert aujourd’hui de parking sauvage derrière la Taverne Elektrick, entre la rue Saint-Leu et la rue Edmond-Fontaine. Le site pourrait devenir la nouvelle adresse de la Lune des pirates, qui a un projet d’extension. Amiens Métropole soutient ce projet, qui était prévu à l’arrière de la scène du quai Bélu. Reste à régler le dossier avec le conseil syndical des copropriétaires.

La rue Saint-Leu à Amiens, une nouvelle rue de la soif?

Et puis, une construction sur cette dent creuse pourrait, pour la Ville, résoudre des problèmes notamment de sécurité sur ce secteur de plus en plus festif. Une salle de spectacle derrière sa boutique de copies et d’impression, Anny Kittel, qui a repris depuis le mois de juin Reprocolor, n’est pas contre. Les étudiants sont sa principale clientèle. « J’avais même déposé un dossier pour occuper une des cellules commerciales sur le campus de la Citadelle, explique la patronne d’Ici services. Finalement, je n’ai pas été retenue. Amiens Métropole a préféré le dossier d’un bar à soupes ». Rue Saint-Leu, elle capte aussi les étudiants du pôle universitaire cathédrale (droit) et de la fac de sciences.

Estelle Thiébault

___

Le collectif des habitants de Saint-Leu fait des propositions sur la vie nocturne au maire

Après avoir participé à une réunion sur la charte de la vie nocturne au mois de septembre, le collectif des habitants de Saint-Leu, qui revendique « une démarche constructive » a de nouveau écrit à Brigitte Fouré début janvier pour lui faire des propositions. « Une homogénéisation des heures de fermeture à 1 heure permettrait d’éviter les conflits entre les établissements et une présence renforcée de la police municipale », explique le collectif, qui cite en exemple les villes de Montpellier, Lyon ou du Havre. Le collectif souhaiterait aussi « contacter l’université pour la mise en place d’un dispositif de médiation », afin d’inciter à des comportements plus civiques.

Poursuivez votre lecture sur ce(s) sujet(s) :Urbanisme|Bars et boîtes de nuit|Amiens (Somme)

Articles Liés

  • Eudémonisme : tout savoir sur cette philosophie du bonheur

    Eudémonisme : tout savoir sur cette philosophie du bonheur

    GO

  • Effets de l’huile de palme sur la santé : quels dangers ?

    Effets de l’huile de palme sur la santé : quels dangers ?

    GO

  • Obligation vaccinale à Lourdes : l'employée d'un centre de dialyse déboutée

    Obligation vaccinale à Lourdes : l'employée d'un centre de dialyse déboutée

    GO

  • Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme : "On est très vite en autonomie"

    Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme : "On est très vite en autonomie"

    GO