+ 884-719-8129
vkling@runolfsson.com

Charlotte, student midwife: "We are very quickly in autonomy"

ByElodie Auffray,published on October 07, 2021 4 min

While midwives are mobilizing again this October 7 to make their rights heard, Charlotte, a 21-year-old Breton student, talks about the choice of her specialty: midwifery. A demanding training, but which corresponds to it because focused on practice and rich on a human level.

Originally, Charlotte wanted to be a pediatrician. She changed her mind during her common first year of health studies (PACES). "I didn't like anatomy at all, I realized that the theory was not what interested me the most. In medicine, we lose the human relationship side with the patient. Maieuticians , they are present throughout the process, there is a closeness with the patient and a global follow -up ", she compares.

After her PACES, she began studying maieutics at the school in Rennes. Charlotte is just beginning her third year, out of the four that the training has (not counting the year of PACES, which has become PASS or L.AS). "It's not easy, but it's worth it," she sums up halfway through.

Read also

Midwifery studies, or how to become a midwife

Become a midwife by practice

Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme :

After the PACES, the first year of midwifery remains fairly general. Theoretical lessons take up most of the timetable (cardiology, pneumology, etc.). Then, they become more specific in the following years: paediatrics, obstetrics, etc.

Even if the course is "very addictive", the student believes she has time for herself alongside her training. "We don't have to have our heads in it all the time," she describes.

Moreover, the most appreciable, according to Charlotte, is above all the concrete side of the training. The numerous internships make it possible to put the courses into practice and "to assimilate more easily" : nursing care, post-delivery follow-up and discovery of the birthing room, but also gynecological and pregnancy follow-up and finally, learning about pathologies at the end of curriculum. "We are very quickly in autonomy, under the supervision of midwives", says the young woman, who was thus able to carry out her first deliveries almost alone, from last year, in the second year of midwifery.

Read also

Live my life as a midwife: "I always wanted to do this job"

Demanding internships

On the other hand, the Breton woman was surprised to discover that there was "a lot of pressure" in the birth rooms. "Some midwives are quite demanding, perhaps because they don't have enough recognition. They want to forge us, train us as well as possible."

It is also necessary, at each stage, to "reprove yourself". Between internships, guards and irregular rhythms, training is not easy. The future caregiver admits a few “slacks” and relies, to cope, on the “enormous benevolence” which reigns in her small class of 30 students (including two men).

Read also

A day in the footsteps of a student midwife

Strong bonds with patients

Once she has her diploma, Charlotte would first like to work in a large hospital , "to see all the pathologies, to be able to seek advice from other midwives and gain confidence". She plans, later, to settle in liberal.

And, in the meantime, why not do humanitarian work. " That's the good thing about this job: it's very varied ." But what she loves above all is this "special bond" that is created "in a very short time" with women during childbirth. “Super beautiful” moments, which confirm his choice.

Related Articles

  • Effects of palm oil on health: what are the dangers?

    Effects of palm oil on health: what are the dangers?

    GO

  • Vaccination obligation in Lourdes: the employee of a dialysis center dismissed

    Vaccination obligation in Lourdes: the employee of a dialysis center dismissed

    GO

  • Charlotte, student midwife: "We are very quickly in autonomy"

    Charlotte, student midwife: "We are very quickly in autonomy"

    GO

  • Sophie Fontanel poses naked and receives thousands of "Thank you"

    Sophie Fontanel poses naked and receives thousands of "Thank you"

    GO

+ 884-719-8129
vkling@runolfsson.com

Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme : "On est très vite en autonomie"

ParElodie Auffray,publié le 07 Octobre 2021 4 min

Alors que les sages-femmes se mobilisent de nouveau ce 7 octobre pour faire entendre leurs droits, Charlotte, étudiante bretonne de 21 ans, revient sur le choix de sa spécialité : la maïeutique. Une formation exigeante, mais qui lui correspond car axée sur la pratique et riche sur le plan humain.

À l'origine, Charlotte voulait être pédiatre. Elle a changé d'avis au cours de sa première année commune aux études de santé (PACES). "Je n'ai pas du tout aimé l'anatomie, je me suis rendu compte que la théorie, ce n'était pas ce qui m'intéressait le plus. En médecine, on perd le côté relations humaines avec le patient. Les maïeuticiennes, elles, sont présentes tout au long du processus, il y a une proximité avec la patiente et un suivi global", compare-t-elle.

Après sa PACES, elle entame donc des études de maïeutique à l'école de Rennes. Charlotte débute tout juste sa troisième année, sur les quatre que compte la formation (sans compter l’année de PACES, devenue PASS ou L.AS). "Ce n'est pas évident, mais ça vaut le coup", résume-t-elle à mi-parcours.

Lire aussi

Les études de maïeutique, ou comment devenir sage-femme

Devenir sage-femme par la pratique

Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme :

Après la PACES, la première année de maïeutique reste assez générale. Les enseignements théoriques occupent la majeure partie de l'emploi du temps (cardiologie, pneumologie…). Puis, ils se font plus spécifiques les années suivantes : pédiatrie, obstétrique…

Même si le cursus est "très prenant", l’étudiante estime avoir du temps pour elle à côté de sa formation. "On n'est pas obligés d'avoir tout le temps la tête dedans", décrit-elle.

D'ailleurs, le plus appréciable, selon Charlotte, c'est surtout le côté concret de la formation. Les nombreux stages permettent de mettre les cours en application et "d'assimiler plus facilement" : soins infirmiers, suivi post-accouchement et découverte de la salle de naissance mais aussi suivi gynécologique et de la grossesse et enfin, apprentissage des pathologies en fin de cursus. "On est très vite en autonomie, sous la surveillance des sages-femmes", raconte la jeune femme, qui a ainsi pu réaliser ses premiers accouchements presque seule, dès l'année dernière, en deuxième année de maïeutique.

Lire aussi

Vis ma vie de sage-femme : "J’ai toujours voulu faire ce métier"

Des stages exigeants

En revanche, la Bretonne a été surprise de découvrir qu'il y avait "pas mal de pression" dans les salles de naissance. "Certaines sages-femmes sont assez exigeantes, peut-être parce qu'elles n'ont pas assez de reconnaissance. Elles veulent nous forger, nous former au mieux."

Il faut aussi, à chaque stage, "refaire ses preuves". Entre les stages, les gardes et les rythmes irréguliers, la formation n'est pas de tout repos. La future soignante avoue quelques "coups de mou" et s'appuie, pour faire face, sur "l'énorme bienveillance" qui règne dans sa petite promotion de 30 étudiants (dont deux hommes).

Lire aussi

Une journée dans les pas d’une étudiante sage-femme

Des liens forts avec les patientes

Une fois son diplôme en poche, Charlotte voudrait d'abord travailler dans un grand hôpital, "pour voir toutes les pathologies, pouvoir demander conseil à d'autres sages- femmes et gagner en confiance". Elle envisage, plus tard, de s'installer en libéral.

Et, entre-temps, pourquoi pas faire de l'humanitaire. "C'est ce qu'il y a de bien dans ce métier : c'est très varié." Mais ce qu'elle aime par-dessus tout, c'est ce "lien particulier" qui se crée "en très peu de temps" avec les femmes lors des accouchements. Des moments "hyper beaux", qui confortent son choix.

Articles Liés

  • Effets de l’huile de palme sur la santé : quels dangers ?

    Effets de l’huile de palme sur la santé : quels dangers ?

    GO

  • Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme : "On est très vite en autonomie"

    Charlotte, étudiante sage-femme : "On est très vite en autonomie"

    GO

  • Obligation vaccinale à Lourdes : l'employée d'un centre de dialyse déboutée

    Obligation vaccinale à Lourdes : l'employée d'un centre de dialyse déboutée

    GO

  • Sophie Fontanel pose nue et reçoit des milliers de « Merci »

    Sophie Fontanel pose nue et reçoit des milliers de « Merci »

    GO